The Name West Papua

Papua and West Papua Provinces of Indonesia

The name “West Papua” is used differently by separatist group and government of Indonesia. It sometimes creates confusion due to its political used.

The name West Papua refers to the western half of the island of New Guinea. The eastern part of the island is Papua New Guinea (PNG). The western half of New Guinea, has had various names such as Netherlands New Guinea, West New Guinea, West Irian, Irian Jaya, and Papua. It became two separate provinces Papua and West Papua since 2007. Separatist group and their supporters call to the entire western half of the island as “West Papua”.

Since the democratization in 1998, especially since 2007, democracy by mean of elections has been introduced to increase political participation in Papua and West Papua. The fact that the leaders of Papua and West Papua provinces are democratically elected by the people has strengthened the legality of West Papua as a province of Indonesia.

About Free West Papua 404 Articles
This Blog has gone through many obstacles and attacks from violent Free West Papua separatist supporters and ultra nationalist Indonesian since 2007. However, it has remained throughout a time devouring thoughts of how to bring peace to Papua and West Papua provinces of Indonesia.

10 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. West Papua extends COVID-19 emergency status by another month | Papua House
  2. The Name West Papua — West Papua – West Papua Post
  3. Defending Papua and West Papua from Separatism | West Papua
  4. Papuan Indonesian or Indonesian Papuan? | West Papua
  5. West Papua's Future in Peace, welfare and trust | West Papua
  6. July 1, 1971 was not West Papua Independence Day | West Papua
  7. Researchers call Papua must be free from poverty and injustice | Papua
  8. What actually happened in West Papua? | West Papua
  9. What Actually Happened in West Papua? - Papuan Lives Matter
  10. Incoherent Action of the British radical Left - Papuan Lives Matter

Leave a Reply